PrettyLoveBar loves Style Bar

People in our city are frequenting & supporting local boutiques more & more every year. There is one in particular that carries an array of men & women’s apparel & accessories in the heart of Osborne Village that I have found to be a personal fav.
Clothing, socks, candles, active-ware, hats, jewelry, the ‘can’t live without S’well bottles‘ & more.
It is eclectic, has limited amounts of specific pieces in each size (so chances of having the same dress or outfit at a wedding or event is nice and slim), & the company & assistance  from the owner is friendly & truly genuine.
Local designers, products who’s companies give back (halfunited Bullet necklaces provide 7 meals to children in need with each sale) & affordable pricing are some of the reasons it’s worth stopping in at 470 River Ave. to meet the sweat, creative & incredible growth behind this gem, Regan Greenwood.
DSC_0867
PLB: Please give us a little background on yourself:
RG: Well, I am Winnipeg born & raised. I left Winnipeg when I was 20 to attend College in LA & get my degree in Fashion Design. I moved back to Winnipeg after school, to work at a few different fashion manufacturers here in Winnipeg. Eventually left (again) to move to Toronto to work there for a large fashion company there. That’s where I decided to move back to Winnipeg & open up shop – Style Bar! 
Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 10.43.26 AM
DSC_0794
PLB: How long have you been interested in fashion?
RG: My entire life. I have always been fascinated with fashion & the ability it has to alter & change your mood & confidence. Fashion is endless & it’s an extension of yourself & who you are. I love to be able to help people express themselves & find what makes them feel confident!

PLB: How did Style Bar come to be?
RG: I always knew I would open a retail store, I just didn’t know when or where. I was living in Toronto working as a clothing designer on a contract position when I finally made the plunge & decided that it was time to move forward with opening the store. I moved home (to Winnipeg) and it just snowballed from there. It all happened so fast! I moved home in April & by September we were open for Business!
Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 11.19.14 AM
DSC_0868
PLB: How long has Style Bar been around?
RG: Style Bar will be celebrating its 2nd birthday this September!

PLB: Why did you decide to carry both women and mens apparel/items?
RG: There is a huge void of men’s clothing in Winnipeg. Especially in boutique shopping. When I was shopping for my retail space, I originally wanted to focus soley on women’s apparel & accessories, but when the (larger) spot I am currently in now became available, that’s when I decided to bring men’s apparel on as well.

PLB: What is something you don’t currently carry but would love to get in your store?
RG: Shoes, thats one thing that I hope to bring in in the near future.
 DSC_0883
DSC_0825
PLB: What are your personal style staples?
RG: I am a simple girl. I wear comfortable clothes that I can wear all day. I like to be able to add a few accessories then head out at night after work for date night or a night out with my girlfriends. I wear a lot of neutral colours, blacks, greys, beiges & creams, & pop it with an accessory or lipstick. A few of my must haves are a great pair of denim, a well structured jacket & a awesome statement piece of jewelry.
DSC_0799
PLB: What is your top selling item, something you can’t seem to keep in stock:
RG: Probably the S’well water bottles, I cant seem to bring in enough. The problem is the demand is so high that its sold out everywhere!
DSC_0792
PLB: Do you carry locally made/sourced/designed items? If so, why?
RG: I do! I love being able to carry & support fellow Winnipeggers. I carry a few local brands, such as Oak + Oar, LBS Yoga & Athletic Wear & Lennard Taylor. Two of our jewelry lines are also local, Sheppards Hook, & Coutu Kitsch both have Winnipeg roots.
DSC_0851
PLB: What is your favourite part about owning your own storefront?
RG: One of my favourite parts of owning the storefront is how I get to connect to all my fantastic customers. I am in the store 6 days a week and I get to talk to (my customers) everyday about what they like, dislike & what they want to see in the store. It helps me grow as a business & it makes the process way more enjoyable!

PLB: What is the most difficult or your least favourite part about owning a storefront?
RG: I think all the stress that comes with running the actual store. I have also dealt with some theft, that is always a difficult issue to deal with.
DSC_0882
PLB: Where do you see Style Bar in 5 years?
RG: Within this year we will be expanding to have a online e-commerce presence. In 5 years, I would love this store to be a flagship, to really grow into a Osborne Village Staple & to have our online site be just as successful as the storefront. And I would love to get into designing again! So that’s definitely on my mind as well.. I would love to get some of my own designs in Style Bar store at some point.
DSC_0800
PLB: What is your favourite piece in the store right now?
RG: All the printed Kimonos…they are my go-to piece this summer! So effortless & chic.

PLB: What are 5 must have summer items right now?
RG: A great printed romper, a versatile kimono, panama style hats, a great statement necklace, & the perfect summer sundress!
Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 11.16.34 AM
PLB: What is the most expensive item in the store & the cost, what is the least expensive item in the store & the cost:
RG: The least expensive item in the store is a pair of earrings… we have earrings for $5… they are a special we always have in the store! I have nothing on the women’s side that retails for over $100 at the moment. The most expensive item in the store is a men’s outerwear jacket, it’s $199.00.
DSC_0857
PLB: What is in your bag?
RG: I always have my S’Well water bottle in my bag at all times, a few different coloured lipsticks, my planner (I’m a old school day planner type girl!),  sunglasses & sunblock.

PLB: How do you spend time outside of work?
RG: I don’t seem to have a lot of free time these days, but I play a lot of soccer outside of work. That keeps me busy when I’m not working or trying to fit in some time with my girlfriends!
Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 11.28.54 AM
PLB: Favourite neighbourhood watering hole?
RG: I would say The Cornerstone next to Style Bar. It’s so convenient for me after a long day of work. The food, atmosphere & drinks are great!

PLB: Cocktail or bevy of choice?
RG: I’m a simple red wine kind of girl!

PLB: If you weren’t running Style Bar, what would you be doing?
RG: I would still be designing.. it’s something I love to do, if I had more time I would be doing more of it now!
DSC_0872
PLB: What do you love about your city?
RG: One of the things I love most about our city is how Winnipeg loves to support itself, I think it’s truly amazing how Winnipeg rally’s around & supports & lifts all the small locally owned businesses. I also love the summers here & how close we are to some great outdoors spots! The summers really come alive in Winnipeg, it makes putting up with the harsh winters worth it!


HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!!!

If you are like me & looking for a yummy bevy this weekend to try out, whip up & savour this refreshing baby on the new post from Rogue Wood – A MUST VISIT SITE!!

Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 12.21.55 PM


 

~~love~~

Leave a Reply

