Finally friday, now go buy some flowers

If you love reading books that are very honest, true & not overtly corny regarding relationships, this one is very good.

Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 2.11.20 PM

Happiness for Two: 75 Secrets for finding more joy together‘ by Alexandra Stoddard.

With chapters titled:

‘Please don’t say something you’ll regret’

‘Eat as many meals together as possible’

‘Don’t correct each other in public’

‘When treats become traps’

‘Write love notes’

“When you are together, be together’,

they seem simple enough, but I know when I actually stop to consider these points, they take  acknowledgement & work. Relationships, no matter how new or mature they are, take a lot of effort, combined respect & shared consideration. In so many other areas in life we are willing to take time to nurture our craft at work, in the kitchen, hobbies & sports (who can walk out onto a T-box,  swing their club & land on the green every time? Definitely not me), the list goes on. A partner & love in life is one of the most important relationships you will have. Why not allocate time together to work on it.

I am not saying aspire to be perfect for each other or court every second, but it is easy to become complacent, forget to take the time you did early on to make the other feel special

Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 2.13.15 PM

I picked this book up when browsing Anthropologie (oh…. Polo Park, how you are finally getting better with age) last weekend with a girlfriend & brought it home. Returning to my condo that sunday there was no questions where my guy would be. Stapled to the couch in the living room, phone in hand to constantly review his fantasy draft & glued to the TV for his committed day of ‘guys in tights who hurling themselves at each other & dancing hilariously when one get the pigskin past the last line’. I sat down beside him, pulled the book out of its tissue & asked him if he would be willing to read it with me a little each day. Without missing a beat he turned to me & said sure. He didn’t even open the cover. That felt great. I have never asked him to read a book with me. He knows I wouldn’t ask him if I didn’t think it could be something positive & fun.

Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 12.57.19 PM

One chapter is titled ‘Write love notes’, another ‘Bring flowers home’. How many girls have brought their guys flowers or stuffed a note in their wallet or suitcase randomly to be found later? I would bet 9/10 guys would find it as endearing as a girl would being the receiver. Don’t let gender stereotypes dictate how to show your love.

We are just getting started on this book, but I have a feeling my favourite chapters will be 6, 21, 28, 46 & 59.

Now, maybe go buy some flowers. Regardless of your partners gender.

~~love~~

Ps. Wheres your favourite place to get flowers?

Leave a Reply

