Crockpot to cobb

I love crock potting.

It’s easy. Its versatile. It provides me with leftovers. Last night I made an extra lean pork roast. I threw it into the pot, I sprinkled half of a package of Weber ‘Just Add Juice’ Mexican Fiesta Marinade, coarse black pepper and a teaspoon of garlic infused oil from a specialty store on Academy – Oliv (I am obsessed with this stuff – it will be my next blog). After 5 hours of sitting on high heat, it fell apart. Dinner was pulled pork on fresh toasted rolls with lettuce, tomatoes, thinly shaved red onion, & a nonfat greek yogurt & dijon mustard mixture. The side enjoyed was brown rice cooked with corn, black beans, basil & chilli powder. Even after eat a lot at dinner, we still had a lot of leftover pork.

Since my guy comes home from work for lunch most days, I try to be creative & switch up meal ideas so we aren’t stuck eating the same thing often, even when leftovers are involved. Today I figured could  a cleaner lunch with the pulled pork added. I love full salads with a melody of ingredients. Cobb salad is perfect for this. Every time I make one it is different. Sometimes it’s vegetarian, at times there may be bacon, chicken, fried prosciutto & eggs. With incorporating pulled pork I wanted to keep the rest a little lighter. A side of ice cold coconut water always helps with adding freshness to a meal.

DSC_0003

Pulled Pork Cobb Salad (for 2 plates)

~~~~~~~~~

Base:

3 cups romaine lettuce, chopped

1 large tomato, diced medium

1 cup of cucumber, diced medium

4 ounces of cheddar cheese, diced or shredded (or as much as you would like)

1/4 cup red onion, diced small

1/2 cup rinsed black beans

2 hard boiled eggs, shelled & cut into quarters

~~

Pork – already cooked & pulled:

Heat frying pan with 1 tsp oil, add pulled pork and heat until it becomes slightly drier & crispy (for 2 people I would add 1-1&1/2 cups depends how hungry you are)

~~

Dressing – add together in a jar and shake:

2 tbsp nonfat greek yogurt

1 tbsp dijon mustard

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp red or white wine vinegar

dash of worcestershire sauce

salt & pepper to taste

~~

Build your salad with the lettuce as the base & create rows of each additional ingredient for a colourful & nice presentation – or toss it all together into a bowl to dress! (I sprinkle Hemp Hearts over my salads as I do with soups, side dishes, yogurt, etc), drizzle with your shaken dressing. Enjoy.

DSC_0004

Use your imagination to create your own variations. Add diced avocado, corn, chickpeas, couscous, blue cheese, beets, the list goes on. With a meal this healthy, it think it should be followed up with a cookie or spoonful of nutella.

~~love~~

Leave a Reply

